Review: Summer’s Road

Summer's Road
Summer’s Road by Kelly Moran

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Just finished with reading SUMMER’S ROAD and oh my! Oh my… I am utterly speechless and overwhelmed. To be honest I don’t know what to write and how to justify the book, what I just read to make you go and pick this book right away. Yes I am fan-girling so bad right now but this just blew me away and now I want to blow you away too so this might be long. Stay with me.

*Takes a deep breathe*

Let me begin with why it gob-smacked me. Reading books in first person, multiple POVs is not my preference but if I do read them, it is very rare for me to get immersed in the characters and live through them. In SUMMER’S ROAD, however, I lived, got my heartbroken and loved through them. For the first time since Styxx, I was too overwhelmed with emotions to continue reading the book in a single sitting. Had to keep it down for a few hours to take a breather and at the same time wanted to pick it up again.

First off is Summer Quinn, a woman who has been struggling with depression and feelings of inadequacy and low self-esteem for as long as she can remember. I think it is very rare to come across who has never at any point in life felt the same. What makes her and her struggle so real is the events she went through; mother leaving when she was a child, being bullied and taunted by kids, at tender age, who didn’t know any better that she was unlovable that is why her mother left her. So scarred and overcome she is by these things that she takes for granted the blessings she already has; her childhood best friends – Ian and Rick, Dee and her father who loved her more than anything and his loss sends her in a downward spiral which almost cost her, her life. I can relate to the part that so many times we take things for granted; like our parents, friends, better-halves, and our life only for things and people who have no meaning or place when it really counts. It is only when something drastic happens, we are jolted out of our world to look around, see the things we have been overlooking. How many times have we come across people who regret not spending enough time with their loved ones, not telling them they loved them or not appreciating all that life gave them till it was too late to do anything? Summer makes you face all these things; love, loss, the need for acceptance and forgiveness and most of all believing in yourself.

Then there is Ian Memmers. The headstrong boy, loyal to a fault who grew up to love Summer with such passion, that she deserved, it will leave your heart aching. I honestly have no words for him; they all fall short. He broke me, made me see Summer in a whole new light and showed me what happens when a Man loves a Woman with all his heart and soul. I can only say – you have to read this to really know him. I will also say – SUMMER’S ROAD has one of the best, most poignant and heart-breaking scenes written in a man’s pov, I have ever read. I got tears in my eyes just recalling it. 😥

SUMMER’S ROAD is a journey of struggle, relationships, love and enduring friendship; not just between Summer and Ian but also Rick. He understands and loves her on a platonic level but no less than Ian. And then there is Dee; a woman who is just as much of a friend as Ian and Rick and who has no insecurity about her man being so close to another woman (like we usually tend to read) and instead, is there for Summer as a silent supporting friend. Be sure to keep a pack of tissues once you start this journey of SUMMER’S ROAD. It will show you how love and faith is all that is needed in the end to cross the greatest hurdles in life. Be it a parent’s, friend’s, teacher’s, family’s love and faith or your own. How it is okay to ask for help or show your sorrow. And how prayers are answered at a time when you need it most rather than when you wish for them. Just have faith.

With The Dysfunctional Test, Ms. Moran brought us laughter amidst fairy tale love and now again she brings us another beautiful, simply beautiful love story that will resonate with all those who struggle in their own way to live for their loved ones. SUMMER’S ROAD will make you look around and tell your loved ones how much you love them and appreciate them for being in your lives and making it so much better. Kudos to you Ms. Moran for slamming it home again, right where it is needed the most.

ARC received in exchange of an honest review.

The opinion is genuine and completely mine. I would love to hear your thoughts on this book once you read it or have read it. 🙂

View all my reviews

Would love to hear your thoughts about the post

